Wow, it’s Monday again. How’d that happen? Like last week, I want to talk about music. Specifically, music that my friends make. Since I went with something old last week, how about something new this time?

 The Hollands! – Over Lands & Leas

The Hollands! are a folk/americana/australiana songwriting family living a dream of mine. These days you can find them traveling the continent full time in their great shiny bus. They’re living a dream I’ve had for ages: They’re experimenting with an indefinite season of full time wandering.

While the band started with Jana singing and Craig providing accompaniment, Over Lands & Leas includes the whole family. Not only do you get to hear gorgeous harmonies from their daughter Graciana, she wrote and features on at least one track.

I knew that I’d found kinfolk when I first met the Hollands and realized that they’d named their son after Australia’s most famous poet. You can hear Banjo’s contribution to the album in the steady rhythm he provides from the cajon.

 

