My word, that was an exciting hockey game. I think it’s safe to assume that most of you aren’t here to hear about hockey, but it’s the one sport that I kind-of follow, and my home team is now only a few games away from possibly winning the stanley cup. They started the season off without losing any of their first 24 games in a row (a math prof calculated that that record isn’t likely to be beaten in the next 700 years of the NHL), and I reckon that winning this series would be a nice bookend on an exciting season.

Right now all over Chicago, you can bet that people are belting this song out at the top of their lungs (Dut duhduh dut, duhduh dut, duh-duh-duh-duh-duh-duh):

But enough about hockey.

Today I spent my workday advertising homemade guitars. I’ll be working at Grrr Records at least part time for the Summer. That’s the record label that the drummer in my band runs as a way of pooling resources to aid musicians in the intentional community where I live. Today I posted more than half of the cigar box guitars you’ll find for sale on that page. It turned out to be more time consuming and tedious than I expected, but I found ways to keep myself occupied. I discovered a new favorite pianist, for instance. Let me know what you think.

If you have a sense of humor about the way that the US government is collecting data on your communications, search twitter for #trollthensa. People were finding creative ways to include these words in completely innocuous tweets. And actually, the poetry contest described in that post sounds like fun! Too bad it’s a year out of date. I think I’m going to work on writing some anyway. I’ve wanted to do a sestina for ages. Maybe I can choose 6 of those words as my core.

I’d intended to write a book review of When You Reach Me and I was going to start a feature called What-Am-I-Reading-Lately Wednesday… but this post, and this evening, have gotten away from me. You’ll just have to read it for yourself to find out how brilliant it is.

