Hello again, world. I’m fresh back from rehearsal with my full time band, Ami Moss & The Unfortunate, and I thought it would be nice to write a little about music tonight. I love it. I spend at least 10 hours a week on The Unfortunate and a few hours on my orchestra (the Chicago Cacophony Orchestra – I’ll tell you more about it some other time) and all my friends know that if they ask me to do something with them, I’ll come if I can. Over the years I’ve been invited to play in a lot of concerts and added pieces to several different albums. Here’s one from almost a decade ago:

Psalters – Divine Liturgy of the Wretched Exiles

Wow… there are so many great memories associated with this album. It was recorded in several places, but the parts I laid down were recorded in Mr. Bailey’s shack: a haunted cabin up on Lookout Mountain, GA. The same Lookout Mountain where the climax of American Gods takes place. Coincidentally, I read American Gods for the first time while I was on that trip and I didn’t know that was going to happen. It was during the same trip that I realized that I like stories even more than I like music.

I’m looking forward to collaborating and conspiring with some of the same crew from those days for the Carnival de Resistance in September. Which I’m practicing stories for nowadays!

I’d love to hear what you think — and what you think of the Psalters’ other albums.

