Welcome to 2013, dear readers! Yeah, yeah, it’s June and this is my first post. I’ve been meaning to write you for *ages* to let you know what I’ve been up to, but I’ve been busy either moping my way through the winter or, you know, doing stuff. I’ve received some nice feedback on the little bit I’ve posted and I’m inspired to get back in the habit of writing consistently.

This is not a gardening blog. Nor is it a travel blog.  I’m excited about both of those things, but I’m also interested in… well, just about everything!

Here are some of the things I might write about. If something catches your fancy, let me know and I’ll be sure to write about it:

  • Unschooling: I was unschooled and would like to unschool my children if I’m ever lucky enough to have any. I have never attended any classes that I didn’t choose myself. I turned out alright and consider it a gift — one that I wish everyone had.
  • Science! I tutor my friends’ kids in science. I struggle to find ways to connect these guys with knowledge that I love in a way that’s consistent with my unschool and anarchist principles. It’s a fun challenge.
  • Life in community. For the last 9 years, I’ve lived in a large (3-400 member) intentional community. Think commune, except that this commune is also a church.
  • Music! I play a lot of music. I play upright bass and piano in a band called Ami Moss and The Unfortunate. I also compose music on the piano and 6 months ago I started an orchestra called the Chicago Cacophony Orchestra. I’ve also begun teaching piano to a few of my friends.
  • Gardening/food justice. I’d like a more personal relationship with the things I put in my mouth. Think about it: our food is made out of dirt and sunshine. I want to see it for myself!
  • Games. I love to play an ancient board game called Go (or baduk in Korean, weiqi in Chinese) and I’ve put a lot of thought into my poker game.
  • How we learn, what people are capable of. I think that people are simultaneously not as smart as we think we are… and in other ways, we’re capable of much more than we give ourselves credit for.
  • Poetry. If you look through my history, you’ll see that I’ve posted a fair bit of poetry I like. I’ve always meant to make audioboos or youtube videos of me reading some of my favorites. Would you listen if I do? I also plan to post some stuff I’ve written recently (double dactyls about people I know) and write more.
  • The Carnival de Resistance. This is a travelling arts and resistance festival we’re going to put on in two towns in Virginia this coming September.
  • Storytelling. I adore reading aloud to people and also telling stories from memory. My main work in the carnival de resistance will be live storytelling, so I’m scrambling to learn more than ever about that.

I could keep going, but I have plans with someone… 20 minutes ago. Let me know what you think and I’ll write more about it tomorrow.

Yours eventually,

Joby

P.S.  Here’s some Tom Waitsy goodness just for you: 

