So, um, Cornerstone is coming up in a few days.  Are you coming?  You should come and see the cool music I get to help make.

I thought it would be a good idea to sit down and tell you about the people I’m playing with.

  • I’m looking forward to playing with my favorite songsmith, Jonni Greth. You should check out this review – if you’re an old fan, you’ll appreciate the new song there.
  • Busker Kibbutznik changed my life†! There hasn’t been a busker show at cornerstone in four years. I’m excited that there’s a show and glad to be a part of it.
  • There’s no Psalters concert this year, but I’m looking forward to Theillalogicalspoon. I probably won’t play with them this year because they already have a tight arrangements of everything — they’re fresh home from a tour and the music sounds better than ever.
  • Come join Lasso the Salt for some serious worship that will make you think. It sure challenges me.
  • Come celebrate the Giver of dance and music with Brother Red Squirrel and the Acorn Harvest Jam.
  • What do you get when you mix together Tuvan throat singing, old-school delta blues and a Tom Waits cover or two? Khadag Blue, of course. Come hear the music I learned to play the stand-up bass for.
  • I don’t think that there’s a web site for Ami Moss’s band The Unfortunate yet, but you can hear a couple of old recordings of songs we still play here. We’ve got a Leonard Cohen cover ready that sounds like Billie Holiday. You’ve got to come hear it.
  • I always love hearing Tommy Ogle play his homemade banjos. He found and restored the bass I’ve been playing and asked if I would play it with his band at cornerstone this year. We’ll see if that comes together, but I’ll sure be at the show.

I’ve got to say I feel downright spoiled to get to play so much music (The above list actually isn’t quite complete). I must sound a bit like a broken record to some of my friends, but I’ll say it again: I’m really proud of everything I’m a part of this year — really looking forward to each and every concert.

See you there!

† A friend told me that I would feel at home at some place called Jesus People. Months later, I found the Busker website and through that the JPUSA website and… the rest is history.

