I read the Hunting of the Snark aloud to my brothers tonight.  If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend it. If you have read it, I don’t have to recommend it. Go read it! It’s still as lovely as you remember. Assuming you like that sort of thing.

Which brings me to tonight’s point. I’ve been sending various friends here and promising that I’ll write something interesting if they’ll promise to look for it (thanks for looking, by the way) and now that I sit down to write, I realize that my friends are, well, various. I tend to think of myself as a bit of an ambassador between different groups. An example? I’ve been accused of being a crusty kid by Glenn Kaiser, a hippie by others and I really have played accordion in a goth band. I bet that some of you don’t know any gutter punks or goth kids. I’m not saying you’re snobby or anything. I’m sure you’d get along fine if you met them, but when have you had the chance?

I would like to (and I will) work through my thoughts about the Christianity and Primitivism conference at Living Waters last week, but I don’t know how to do that without half of you thinking that I’m crazy and the other half thinking I’m still too domesticated — too much a part of the broken system. 


In the meanwhile, enjoy today’s links:

It seems Alexander Yalt has been translating English road signs into Welsh.

Did I ever show you this site? Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii was taking color photographs of the Russian empire in 1907. Check it out.

prokudin-gorsky-kazakh-family

A family of Kazakh nomads in 1911. In full color.

Tonight, let’s see if I can invoke my friend Jon Trott. I haven’t told him about this blog yet. Jon, if you comment here, I promise I’ll write more about my piece of Montana history.

